Greek Elections 2023: Today the dissolution of the short-lived Parliament and the announcement of elections

The procedures for the June 25 elections are proceeding rapidly. The short-lived new parliament that resulted from the May 21 polls was sworn in yesterday before the President of the Republic Katerina Sakellaropoulou and this Monday, in the morning, meets to elect the presidency, so that in the afternoon it will be dissolved by Presidential Decree and the proclamation of the new elections, which will be held this time with the enhanced proportional system.

The swearing in of the new Parliament has been completed

It is worth noting that the Parliament of the Greeks with a term of “two” days, is the second time we have in the post-junta political annals. The previous time was the Parliament of May 2012, of the 14th Presiding Parliamentary Period, and since the previous elections, the possibility of forming a government had not arisen.

The process until the dissolution of the Parliament

At 10.30 in the morning, the Parliament will convene for the “Election of the President of the Hellenic Parliament”, in the presence of the acting Prime Minister, Ioannis Sharma.

The meeting will be chaired by the temporary First Vice-President of the Parliament Nikitas Kaklamanis. Initially, he will announce the letters of the presidents of the parliamentary groups regarding the persons they propose for the new President of the Parliament, as the submission of a nomination by a candidate is not admissible.

The leader of New Democracy and president of the first party in parliamentary power Kyriakos Mitsotakis, in a letter to the Parliament, has announced that he nominates the current Speaker of the Parliament, Konstantinos Tassoulas, for the position.

The new President of the Parliament will be elected by roll call and is required to receive an absolute majority of the entire number of Deputies. If the 151 positive votes are not collected, the voting is repeated and elected with a relative majority.

Mr. Kaklamanis will announce the result of the vote and invite the Speaker of the House to occupy the chair.

On Monday and after a short break, the Plenary will meet again in order to elect the Vice-Presidents, Secretaries and Deans of the Parliament by roll call.

The first three Vice-Presidents of the House will be elected by the New Democracy parliamentary group, while the third, fourth and fifth Vice-Presidents will be elected respectively by the Opposition parties, so that there is proportional representation in the Bureau.

For the positions of the first three Vice-Presidents of the Parliament, New Democracy will propose the MPs Nikita Kaklamanis, Charalambos Athanasiou and Athanassios Bouras, who were also Vice-Presidents in the previous Parliament. SYRIZA MP Meropi Tsoufi. PASOK-KINAL again has Odysseus Konstantinopoulos, and communist party KKE will propose MP Giorgos Lambroulis. The Hellenic Solution will nominate Konstantinos Chitas for the position of Vice-President to whom he is entitled.

The dissolution of Parliament

After the completion of the election of the Presidium of the Parliament, the new President of the Parliament will adjourn the meeting. An end to the meeting, which at the same time means the completion of the term of the first and only Session of the next Parliamentary Period.

The President of the Republic, Katerina Sakellaropoulou, will then issue the Presidential Decree dissolving the Parliament, announce the national elections of June 25, 2023 and set the day of swearing in of the next parliament. The Presidential Decree will be co-signed by the acting Prime Minister Ioannis Sarmas and the members of the acting Council of Ministers. The PD will be sent to the Hellenic Parliament in order to be sealed by the Parliament Guard.