Aegean islands mayors in Brussels to discuss migration issue

The mayors of five Aegean islands are in Brussels invited by European Commissioner for Migration Dimitris Avramopoulos.

The mayors of islands of Lesvos Spyros Galinos, Samos Michalis Angelopoulos, Chios Manolis Vournous, Leros Michalis Kollias and Kos Giorgos Kyritsis will hold talks on the migration challenges that their islands are encountering as well as the migrants and refugees reception capacity and the efforts on the islands’ decongestion.

Apart from Avramopoulos, the five mayors will also meet with EU coordinator for the implementation of EU-Turkey agreeement Maarten Verwey and with EU Commission’s experts on migration issues.