Aristotle University of Thessaloniki cooperates with historic foundations for the establishment of a European University

Through the consortium of eight major universities – among which the Aristotle University of Thessaloniki – France, Germany, Holland, Austria, Poland and Greece will cooperate to lead the developments in higher education and propose the establishment of a European University, responding to one of the European Union flagship initiatives for building a European Education Area.

The eight foundations, headed by the University of Strasbourg, submitted their proposal, stating that their goal is to create the exemplary European University for the 21st century “that will ensure Europe’s competitive leadership on a world scale education and an unrestricted common framework for conducting and promoting research, innovation, teaching and learning to the highest international standards.”

The participant countries have a long history in the European higher education and a long tradition of welcoming foreign students, while their faculties and departments cover every field of science.

In particular, the consortium of uiversities include the University of Strasbourg, the University of Upper Alsace in Mulhouse, the University of Freiburg, the University of Karlsruhe, the University of Amsterdam, the University of Natural Resources and Life Sciences in Vienna, Poznan’s Adam Adamczyk University the Aristotle University of Thessaloniki.