DPA: Prime Ministers Tsipras and Zaev officially nominated for Nobel Peace Prize

According to information reported by the German News Agency DPA, the Norway-based award committee announced on Tuesday that over 300 nominations have been made for the 2019 Nobel Peace Prize among which are the prime ministers of Greece and North Macedonia, Alexis Tsipras and Zoran Zaev.

Furthermore, DPA explains that the two leaders have been nominated by party groups in the European Parliament for their agreement to end a long-running dispute over Macedonia’s name, at the initiative of Ouided Bouchamaoui, an economist and member of the Tunisian National Dialogue Quartet who won the 2015 peace prize.