EU Council adopts framework for restrictive measures against Turkey’s activities in eastern Mediterranean

The Council of the EU on Monday adopted a framework for restrictive measures in response to Turkey’s unauthorized drilling activities in the eastern Mediterranean, making it possible to sanction individuals or entities responsible for, or involved in unauthorized drilling activities of hydrocarbons in the eastern Mediterranean.

The measures will consist of a travel ban to the EU and an asset freeze for persons as well as for entities. In addition, EU persons and entities will be forbidden from making funds available to those listed.

The framework for restrictive measures makes it possible to place under sanctions persons or entities responsible for drilling activities related to hydrocarbon exploration and production not authorized by Cyprus within its territorial sea, Exclusive Economic Zone (EEZ) or continental shelf, and persons or entities providing financial, technical or material support for drilling activities, or anyone associated with them.

Monday’s decision is a direct follow-up to the Council conclusions of October 14, which were endorsed by the European Council on October 17-18, when the EU reaffirmed its full solidarity with Cyprus, regarding the respect of its sovereignty and sovereign rights in accordance with international law and invited the Commission and the European External Action Service to submit proposals for a framework for restrictive measures.