FYROM confirms February 6 as date of NATO accession protocol signing

The government of Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia (FYROM) confirmed on Monday that its accession protocol into NATO would be signed on Wednesday, February 6.

In a statement, the government said that the ambassadors of the 29 NATO member-states will sign the protocol for the accession of FYROM to NATO under its new constitutional name, Republic of North Macedonia. The country will be admitted and be able to participate in NATO divisions without a right to vote, it said.

Once the protocol is signed, the parliaments of each member-state must ratify it, implementing the Prespes Agreement and the constitutional amendments based on its terms, the statement said.

The date of the signing had been announced by NATO Secretary General Jens Stoltenberg on Saturday.