Greece elected new president of the World Tourism Organization’s Commission for Europe

Greece was unanimously elected to preside on the World Tourism Organization’s (WTO) Commission for Europe (CEU) for 2019 to 2021, following a vote at the organization’s 64th CEU Meeting in Zagreb, Croatia, was announced on Monday by the Greek Tourism Ministry.

A total of 40 member-states of WTO, an agency of the United Nations, voted at the event. Greece was represented in the Zagreb meeting by General Secretary for Tourism Policy and Development George Tziallas, Tourism Ministry Diplomatic Advisor Dimitris Karakonstantis and Tourism Ministry Strategic Planning Department Head Despina Diamantakou.

A ministry statement said that Greece’s election to the chair of the CEU, shows that the tourism ministry implements Greece’s strategic target to having a more active presence and substantial role in discussions with international tourism bodies, as well as a strong international representation.

It added that the national tourism strategy is harmonized with the WTO’s five pillars towards boosting the tourism sector: innovation alongside digital transformation; investments and entrepreneurship; education and employment; safe, secure and seamless travel; and social, cultural and environmental sustainability.

The result of the vote will be ratified during the WTO’s 23rd General Assembly, to be held in St. Petersburg, Russia, on September 9.