Greece returns 17 irregular migrants to Turkey under EU-Turkey deal

Greek authorities on Tuesday sent 17 irregular migrants back to Turkey from the Aegean island of Lesvos, in accordance with the EU-Turkey agreement. The group included two Pakistanis, three Iraqis, seven Algerians, one Afghan, one Ghanian, one Malian, one Moroccan and one Nigerian, all of them men.

Of the group, five were returned after their asylum applications were turned down at appeal, two had withdrawn their applications for asylum and 10 had never filed an application for asylum.

They were transferred to the Turkish coast under the supervision of the EU border agency Frontex and, on arrival, were taken to a migrant camp.