Greece takes over presidency of the SEECP

Greece takes over the presidency of the South-East European Cooperation Process (SEECP) from Thursday, July 1, and for one year.

The SEECP was established in 1996 and its first Summit was held on Crete on November 4, 1997. It is the only regional co-operation scheme that exclusively involves all the countries of Southeastern Europe, as well as Kosovo, according to a foreign ministry statement.

In addition to Greece, the following countries participate in the SEECP: Albania, North Macedonia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Kosovo, Croatia, Montenegro, Moldova, Romania, Serbia, Slovenia and Turkey. The aim, as pointed out, is to strengthen good neighbourly relations between the participants, as well as to properly prepare for integration into the EuroAtlantic institutions, by cooperating in the areas of rule of law, security and the economy.