Law extending lower VAT rate on five East Aegean islands signed by ministers

The extension of the lower VAT rate applied to migration-affected islands of the Aegean was countersigned on Monday by the Finance and Deputy Finance Ministers Euclid Tsakalotos and Katerina Papanatsiou, respectively, bringing it into immediate effect.

The signing follows a recent parliament plenary vote. The legislative act will allow the islands of Chios, Kos, Leros, Lesvos, and Samos to use a lower VAT rate until June 30, 2019, a ministry statement said.