Parliament approves four concession agreements for hydrocarbon exploration

Parliament approved with a wide majority on Wednesday four concession agreements between the Greek state and three companies for the rights to hydrocarbon exploration and exploitation in four areas of western Greece.

The regions approved are in Area 2, in the Ionian Sea, in Etoloakarnania -the western Greek region facing the Ionian islands- in Arta and Preveza, and in Northwestern Peloponnese.

SYRIZA, New Democracy, the Democratic Coalition, Potami and the Independent Greeks (ANEL) voted in favour, the Communist Party voted against, while Golden Dawn and the Centrists Union voted “present”.