Piraeus Bank announces resignation of three board members

Piraeus Bank on Wednesday announced the resignations of Apostolos Tamvakakis, first vice-president of the board –independent member-, Stavros Lekkakos, second vice-president non-executive, and Charoula Apalagaki, mandated adviser and CLO, from the bank’s board.

In an announcement, Piraeus Bank said that Tamvakakis, with a big administrative and banking experience inside and outside Greece, played a decisive role in a difficult period for the domestic market and the stability of the Greek financial system. It noted that Tamvakakis was leaving the bank to pursue new business endeavours.

Piraeus Bank said Lekkakos completed a constructive cycle of 25 years in the bank. With his deep banking knowledge, administrative skills and taking over of top positions in the group, he contributed decisively in the bank’s growth course (Lekkakos served as Chief Executive for five years). Lekkakos is leaving the group to continue the demanding role as chairman of MIG’s board.

Mrs Apalagaki contributed significantly for 14 years as legal advisor to the bank, of which 11 as member of the board and served as interim chairman in 2016. She is leaving the bank to take over as secretary-general of Hellenic Bank Association from March 1.

Piraeus Bank’s board expressed its thanks to all three executives for their significant contribution in the Group’s development and wished them every success in their future plans.

The bank plans to replace the three members in the near future.