Three more Line 3 metro stations to be ready by June 30

Three new metro stations on Line 3 – Agia Varvara, Platia Eleftherias (Korydallos) and Agios Nikolaos (Nikea) – are expected to be fully operational by the end of June, officials said on Tuesday.

The turnover details were finalized at a meeting at the Korydallos Town Hall with mayor Stavros Kasimatis and representatives of Attiko Metro SA and the construction consortium.

Digging for this section of the Line 3 extension to Piraeus is complete and the tunnel-boring machine (“Metropontikas”) will be disassembled within the next few days. The consortium said its contractual obligation calls the full operation and turnover of the three stations by June 30.

According to current plans, the line’s full extension to Piraeus will be completed in 2020.